Convention 2011

The fun and festivities that were had at convention 2011 were some of the fondest memories I have had in a long time. I was really looking forward to this convention because I was going to actually know people at this one, as it turns out even if I don’t know you I’ll start up a conversation. It’s amazing how fast the time goes at convention, before you know it you’re on your way home on Sunday going, wow that really was a great time.

I was very proud of our members this year. I finally had the chance to sit through the entirety of Policy and Action discussion. What a great grassroots organization to be a part of, we even had at least three first time delegates get up and propose new policy, how exciting to literally see an organization being progressive. My favorite quote of the event came from now former NDFU president Robert Carlson. He said this to the torchbearers on Saturday night, “Action creates change, and change makes progress. You’ll be surprised at what you can do when you just try.”

Wow. What a powerful message for young and old alike. Those words can resonate with any person, at any point in their life.

My favorite part was visiting with the members once the day was over. Meeting new people and having a chance to just talk to people who you normally have to always work with. So friends from across the state, young and seasoned, new members and those who have blessed this organization with their knowledge for many years, now the holiday season is officially underway. May you have a blessed thanksgiving, with food, family and fellowship.

I’ll see you on the road!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Convention 2011

  1. Denise Brown

    I love your blog Jessica. Thank you all the other staff members for a very successful Convention. I look forward to working with you in the future.

Leave a Reply

