Rural Leadership North Dakota – Orientation

If you are reading this blog and don’t know what the Rural Leadership ND program out of NDSU is, I seriously suggest that you google it. RLND has graduated leaders who are making a difference all across ND, in a rural community near you. The program is something I stumbled into, thanks to alumni Patti Patrie. Patti called the NDFU office and wanted to encourage a few of us to apply. So I did and after the first event I know that was a life changing decision.

Class V, which is my class, has 25 participants. We come from all across ND and every walk of life, to young ranchers to experienced classmates that don’t have an agriculture background, we are a great balance. Getting to know everyone a little more and tackling some big projects are something I look forward to, as I can’t wait to build more networks across the state.

This past weekend was all about the DISC profile. Seriously, if you haven’t done this, do it. You’ll better understand yourself and why you interact with some people the way you do. It will help you read others better and improve how you handle conflict. Believe it or not I’m a very high “I” on the profile, which stands for inspirational, that sounds great, but it also means other things. I generate enthusiasm and can be persuasive, I am someone who is goal-orientated. However, it takes extra effort for me to deal with details. Spot on. It was a riot to learn about myself and the others in the class. The next step should be even more fun.

The gala was a great time, I won a silent auction item! Meeting alumni from the previous classes and seeing the donors who make this incredible program possible, I am so excited to be a small part of this group.

Marie Hvidsten is the leader of this organization. She is phenomenal, loves her role and does it with so much pride and confidence. I so look forward to this journey with her. She always ends with a quote and here is the quote of RLND.

Watch your thoughts; they become words.

Watch your words; they become actions.

Watch your actions; they become habits.

Watch your habits; they become character.

Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.

Thanks RLND. I look forward to the next two years.

I’ll see you on the road.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Rural Leadership North Dakota – Orientation

  1. Erin Rae

    I’m intrigued! I’m going to have to learn more about this program.

  2. Again it sounds like you had a blast. Sometimes it is your attitude that makes the blast. And for this you missed the Haak Christmas doings. Ha! I would be scared to take that survey thing to find out about myself. Oppositional defiant is about all that would come out. I am not really sure where you came from, maybe under a rock, but not sure knowing your parents. Ha. Take care. MOM

  3. Pingback: Animal Cruelty | So It Goes

Leave a Reply

