Bobby

On Monday night I was down in Hettinger County in Lefor doing a shop talk. Now I LOVE shop talks, it’s a chance to listen to people, meet new faces, visit with familiar faces and just relax and have fun with NDFU members. I always come away from them feeling so refreshed about all of the work NDFU does for its members. This shop talk was exceptional. My co-worker Pam Musland and I went together because Curtis and Michele Wax had so many people we had to split the group in two, what an awesome problem to have. Pam and I had great discussion on the way home, leaving me enthusiastic about the upcoming year.

Last night I watched the movie “Bobby”. If you can’t already guess it was about Robert Kennedy and had 22 characters who were all intertwined with the event, mostly people who were around the hotel that day and the movie went through their lives and shed some incredible light on how life was back then. I cried a lot during that movie, it’s like the event happened that evening. RFK was such an inspiration to so many people, he stood for equality and peace, a message we could use today. The way the movie portrayed the event the viewer can’t help but think, what if? One particualr character Dwayne, was an African-American organizer for RFK and the quote I remember from his mouth hours before it happened was, “Now that someone assassinated the King, Bobby is our only hope.” While the story of the characters is fiction, that very well could’ve been the spirit and thought of many people during that time period. Unfortunately, this hatred and violence still spreads like a wildfire today with the recent tragedy that happened to Rep. Giffords and the other innocent victims that day.

However, at the very end of the movie they had one of RFK’s speeches about how we must press on for equality, peace and an America to be proud of. I couldn’t agree more, a person can be killed, but an idea can never die.

As I went to bed that evening I was finishing up my book for my RLND class and at the very end of the book they had the Paradoxical Commandments. How very fitting. Here they are:

1. People are illogical, unreasonable and self-centered. Love them anyway.

2. If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish ulterior motives. Do good anyway.

3. If you are successful, you will win false friends and true enemies. Succeed anyway.

4. The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.

5. Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable. Be honest and frank anyway.

6. The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds. Think big anyway.

7. People favor underdogs but follow only top dogs. Fight for underdogs anyway.

8. What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight. Build anyway.

9. People really need help but may attack you if you do help them. Help people anyway.

10. Give the world the best you have and you’ll get kicked in the teeth (or shot). Give the world the best you have anyway.

 

Tonight I’m off to Wapheton to meet with Richland  county members then off to Fargo for RLND the rest of the week. Remember do good anyway for an idea can NEVER die!

See you on the road

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Bobby

  1. Diana

    Jessica, I didn’t even realize you were blogging. I just read through your posts and enjoyed reading your comments! Thanks for your time spent in Richland Co. tonight. I hope you had a safe trip home. Wish you lived closer to my daughter as you two would have fun together…….
    Diana

  2. I wish you lived closer to me. Maybe that is why we get along cause I miss you and worry about you always on the road. Here is another commandment for you. 11. Every time you have a good idea, everyone will copy you or try to take it away from you. Take your idea and do it your way any way. Those who don’t think it up will soon tire of trying to be you. Be YOU everyday. God made you and loves you just the way you are.

Leave a Reply

