Ladies’ Bus Trip

It’s important to get outside your comfort zone and try new experiences. This past weekend I “chaperoned” a ladies’ bus trip to Fargo for the street fair and a musical. Now, this was a big stretch for me. I don’t enjoy shopping. I’ll do it if I’m looking for something specific, but it’s not my most favorite pasttime. I also am not a big fan of musicals. I am one of those people who would rather sit at a baseball game, then go to a broadway musical. So I treated this trip as an adventure.

The trip started early Friday morning, left Jamestown at 7:00 a.m. to be in Lakota in time to catch the bus. A fun icebreaker and before you knew it we were in Fargo. The first stop was the street fair. And it was hot. The temp that day in Fargo reached 102, and I think every one of us who went to the street fair about melted. I felt for the vendors, as with the heat and humidity no relief was offered because little to no breeze existed. I found relaxation in a coffee shop, where I read my book and enjoyed a cool drink.

Some of the ladies found great treasures at the street fair, a large number of the group found a bar and drank (iced tea) all afternoon in the comfort of air conditioning. People really come on these trips to meet new people and catch up with old friends, as not a lot of shopping was done, but a lot of the ladies visited.

As we were taking our group picture in front of the bus a pick up took out a lamp post. The entire pole was shattered, and the driver just sped right off, so we decided to call the police. Well oddly enough when hitting the pole the force was so great that the license plate of the vehicle fell off and was left right at the scene of the crime. It’s called karma, lesson learned. Don’t hit and run.

 

So after a quick shower and freshening up we were on our way out to Trollwood. The feature was Legally Blonde.

 

I have never seen a musical so good. The students who participated were completely amazing. The music, acting, costumes, everything was just fantastic. I had so much fun at that musical. Plus I LOVE that movie, so that helps. It’s still showing this week, if you can go, it’s worth the drive.

The next day the ladies had the option of going to the street fair again or going to the mall, many choose the mall as it was still plenty hot outside. After a day of shopping, we headed up to Grand Forks to tour Dakota Harvest Bakery. What a great little shop! The shop is filled with homemade treats, and many of the ingredients are locally grown. A great North Dakota business supporting North Dakota growers. The service was great too.

Then it was time to go home. It was hard getting off in Lakota. I had such a great time with the ladies. They each got a card and I encouraged all of them to stay in touch. I hope that I get to see them one day again, they already started planning a shopping extravaganza trip to the Albertville Mall.

I snapped this beauty in Stutsman County on my way home. It was so gorgeous I had to stop. I am thankful to live in such an incredible place, North Dakota is such a great home. That’s why traveling this great place is so rewarding.

I’ll see you on the road!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ladies’ Bus Trip

  1. Hey sounds like fun and of course you liked this musical, it is your favorite story. Could have been you, except that dog part. Ha!!

  2. gz

    Your trips always sound like they are so much fun!! I’m jealous! Keep up the good work and happy travels to you always!!

  3. Kathy

    All I can say is,should have been me. Glad you had a great time.

Leave a Reply

